Businesswomen's Committee

Planning committee meets approximately once a month, typically Friday afternoon.

Co-Chairs: Christine Armstrong, Jillian Burgess

Staff Liaison, Sara Bowen, Director of Events

Mission: Organized in 1986, the group is committed to the growth of Cape Ann business and the professional development of the Chamber’s female members. They provide a forum for the region’s businesswomen to network and raise funds for scholarships that aid women with continuing education.

The committee hosts events throughout the year. They include quarterly mixers, a summer sunset sail, and a fall luncheon in October with a notable and inspirational speaker. These events help further the Committee’s mission of supporting and advocating for women. In 2005, the group established the Carolyn M. O’Connor Scholarship where two $1,500 scholarships are awarded annually to women who are going back to school or are considering a career change to advance their life. To date, the Division has given away over $20,000 in scholarships.